The International Summer Music Institute will hold its annual concerto competition for violin, viola, cello, double bass, and piano. The first round is conducted via the videos uploaded to your registration and the second is in person.

To enter the competition, please upload your videos and indicate on your application your intent to participate in the concerto competition. This will take place in the Final Registration stage through Acceptd after you have completed the initial registration form and paid the deposit. The cost to enter the competition is $35. (This cost covers our pianist costs for the competition.) This fee is non-refundable. 

Competition Dates (Live Semi-Final Round)
Piano rehearsals for contestants: July 6, 2024, 6:00-7:30pm (rooms assigned at orientation)
Live Semi-Final Round: July 7, 2024 at 7:30pm, UNT College of Music Recital Hall
Performance: July 13, 2024, Gala Concert in the UNT Murchison Performing Arts Center

Up to two winners will be selected to perform with orchestra.
Additional contestants may be considered to perform with piano in the gala concert first half

Application Procedure
Indicate your intent to participate in the Final Registration stage through Acceptd. You will be able upload a video with your repertoire section from the list below. A jury comprised of ISMI faculty will decide which participants will move on to the live second round of the competition. 

The winning contestants will perform with the ISMI Chamber Orchestra in the Gala Concert. Our top prize winner will also receive a full-tuition waiver to attend ISMI in 2025. Additional prizes or honorable mentions may be awarded.
Each contestant will be given a 10-minute audition slot. ISMI will provide a collaborative pianist and a rehearsal time for each contestant.

Select one item from the list below:

Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041 by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Movement 1: Allegro moderato

Concert in E major, BWV 1042 by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Movement 1: Allegro

Concerto in C major, Hob. 7a/1 by Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Movement 1: Allegro moderato

Concerto in G major, Hob. 7a/4 by Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

Melodie Op.42 #3 for Violin and String Orchestra by Pyotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky (1810-1893)

Romanze Op. 85 for Viola and Orchestra by Maz Bruch (1838-1920)

Concerto in D major by Franz Anton Hoffmeister (1754-1812)
Movement 1: Allegro -- OR --
Movement 2: Poco adagio and Movement 3: Rondo. Allegro

Trauermusik by Paul Hindemith (1895-1963)
Complete work

Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major, Hob. 7b/1 by Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Movement 1: Moderato 

Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor Op. 73 by Camille Saint-Saens (1835-1921)

Double Bass
Concerto No. 2 in B minor by Giovanno Bottesini (1821-1889)
Movement 1: Allegro

Concerto No. 2 in F# minor by Serge Koussevitzky (1874-1951)
Movement 1: Allegro

Concerto No. 1 in D minor, BWV 1052 by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Movement 1: Allegro

Concerto No. 1 in F major, Hob. 18/3 by Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Movement 1: Allegro

Concerto No. 11 in D major, Hob. 18/11 by Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Movement 3: Rondo all’Ungarese. Allegro assai

Concert No. 1 in E minor Op. 11 by Frederic Chopin (1810-1849)
Movement 2

Concerto No. 2 in F minor by Frederic Chopin (1810-1849)
Movement 3